Contests · Sampler and antiques · The Sweetheart Tree

Festa del Ricamo 2012, getting ready..

I can feel it.. it’s getting closer and closer.. it’s party time! 😀

In a month I’ll be in Tuscany, celebrating the arts and crafts of stitchers at the 6th edition of the yearly event hosted by Casa Cenina in Arezzo.

During the 2 days event “The Sampler of Your Life” contest will see its end, when Afke Wullink Semplonius (chairman of the Dutch Sampler Society) and Maria Concetta Ronchetti from Antichi Ricami (designer and teacher of Chicken Scratch Embroidery) will reward the three best creations, plus a special, surprise award assigned by the technical jury.

My idea was to take part with three different projects, all customized a bit by me (in order to fit the of your life theme) but unfortunately the stash required for two projects arrived way too late to get a finish, therefore it’ll be just me and my little Holly & Hearts Sampler.

 

I’m not a samplermaniac, but Sandra’s vines, the intricate backstitch, the design which mirrors from left to right, the effect of the sunlight on the beads and paillettes she manages to place so delicately among the stitching, convinced me this was the right piece to choose.

In a way (a crazy way, of course) it resembles me.. I’ll have to put some thoughts in this and manage to write a few words on the subject, it’s one of the entry requirements for the contest.

– – –

thank you for stopping by.. comments are always welcome! for any question feel free to ask using the contact me form you find on top of the header (between about me and finishes).

see you around..

chiara

2 thoughts on “Festa del Ricamo 2012, getting ready..

Leave a reply..

