Giveaways · Ornaments · The Workbasket · Theme-a-licious · Vaupel & Heilenbeck

new monthly goals and a winner

as I hoped yesterday I managed to finish The Workbasket Quaker Holly

I’m really pleased with how it turned out.. I added two little bells to the cord, since it was too long for the ornament, and I didn’t want to tuck in (and waste) such a long corded tail.. plus, the bells look really nice.. (they were decorations from this year’s Easter bunnies, which I kept safe, knowing one day they’ll turn out useful.. :))

I corded 4 meters of cotton floss with Kreinik’s Custom Corder, getting a cord long enough to decorate all the perimeter of the ornament (stitched with Ladder stitch), create a hanging loop and add the little bells on the cord’s end.. not bad at all! 🙂

this means I got a real SLAM on my monthly goals! YAY!! 😀

now it’s time to assign June ones.. Theme-a-licious says

Jumanji June

Is it a jungle out there in your stash? Give some love to the projects with animals or birds.

..mmm.. I have many WIPs involving animals, and plenty of SALs I’m working on which will have animals at some point.. I guess this time it shouldn’t be too hard to squeeze into Jumanji what I actually feel like stitching.. 😉

JUNE STITCHING GOALS

• keep on working on ornaments to give as Christmas presents
• get at least 3 Christmas tree decorations done
• realize other seasonal versions of the Quaker Holly ornament
• finish part two of the two Mystery SALs Al Castello hosted by Nikyscreations and Lilli Violette
• finish part two of The Shop Around the Corner Waiting for Christmas SAL 
• stitch Manka‘s Hungarian Folk Art motif
• realize more trees from part one of Waiting for Christmas SAL
• clear the way for Lizzie Kate‘s Mystery Sampler and start it as soon as it arrives! (shouldn’t even count as a goal.. :D)

another funny thing I got finished yesterday is this little bracelet from Lili points which came with everything needed apart from the floss.. I didn’t realize it when I bought it, but this little thing will turn out pretty useful when I go to stitchful events such as the Festa del Ricamo..!

I’ve chosen two Vaupel & Heilenbeck threads (3954 and 1000) stitched over one with one ply of thread, as the instructions suggested.. I’m really happy my sometimes random stashing became this useful! 😀

– – –

and now off to what you’re all waiting for.. the drawing!! 😀

mom won’t be home in time today, for I have plans for this evening, and as I told you have a pretty hectic day.. so I decided to do this myself.. I’ve thrown all the slips of paper from the bowl and picked the one which made it further.. HUUGE surprise when it turned out to be Edgar from Blacksheep’s Bit of the Web! (probably the reason many of you found the grey tail in the first place..! :))

I’ve been shopping yesterday for some Italian good stuff, add the stitching beauties when I come home from Casa Cenina ..and I’ll be shipping it all next week (and hopefully see it reach California safe and sound!)

in the meantime, take care..and don’t forget there will be much blogging about the Festa del Ricamo in the next few days, featuring the biggest stash plunder I’ve ever made, pictures from Tuscany, and the awards for “The Sampler of Your Life” contest! 😀

I can’t wait to finally get the chance to meet Afke Wullink Semplonius (chairman of the Dutch Sampler Society) and Maria Concetta Ronchetti from Antichi Ricami (designer and teacher of Chicken Scratch Embroidery), the two judges for the sampler contest.. and all the other participants of course! it’s going to be such a stitchfully blissful weekend! 😉

I’m leaving tomorrow morning VERY early, excited just like a kid who’s going to Disneyland.. 😀

– – –

thank you for stopping by and leaving such nice comments

happy xxx,

chiara

6 thoughts on “new monthly goals and a winner

  1. ohh well done to edgar 🙂 love your wee finish … glad you got to your goals … and enjoy your few days away stash shopping , taking lots of pictures to make us jealous hehehe 🙂 love mouse xxxx

    Like

Leave a reply..

