Advent Band Sampler · iStitch Designs · Nina's Threads

finishing Friday – the Advent Band Sampler

the first of my finishing fridays features iStitch DesignsSew Advent Band SAL Sampler for 2013.

this was a SAL during last Christmas, one band to be stitched every day of the Advent. I joined a little late (on the 8th day), and finished even later, but it was a very enjoyable, quick design to work on.

I had a little trouble deciding which linen to use, until I narrowed things down to these two options.

IMG_2942
on the left, Nina’s 40ct. Cocoa linen. on the right, Nina’s 36ct. Christmas Wine.
cotton threads in Champagne, Hunter and Valentine.

in the end, I decided to stitch this twice, the two linens were just too perfect for it.

I started with the vertical version on the 36ct. Christmas Wine and later on this year (hopefully before the next advent) I’ll plan my other Cocoa version, which will be lots of fun to play with.

the finished project measures only 5 cm wide on the 36ct. but on the other hand is very high, 30 cm, so I had to split close ups. here we go! 😀

IMG_3306
iStitch Designs’ Sew Advent Band Sampler 2013
IMG_3311
1. top
IMG_3310
2. middle
IMG_3309
3. middle
IMG_3308
4. bottom

it really bugs me that most of the pictures have a yellowish tone, but it’s because of indoor lights.. real bummers!

as usual I went for my own choice of everything, changed up things here and there, .. and since many people asked for this, here is a complete recap of what I did, finally! 🙂

– – –

(my own) Sew Advent Band SAL Sampler 2013 – a complete recap

fabric: Nina’s 36ct. Christmas Wine linen, stitched 1 over 2

[thread list has been removed. if you’re interested in the threads I used write me using the contact me form you find on top of the header (between about me and finishes)]

beads: Mill Hill Magnifica beads #10010 (Snow White, attached with one strand of Champagne), #10033 (Cranberry, attached with one strand of Valentine).

changes:

  • centered the letters in band 1 by starting the A one space to the right
  • used cranberry beads instead of red cross stitches for the berries in band 4
  • added one stitch to the A so that it’s perfectly symmetrical (OCDs here :D)
  • added a cranberry bead on top of Rudolph’s nose in band 9
  • substituted the Herringbone stitches in dividing band 10 and 11 with full cross stitches
  • used snow white beads instead of white cross stitches for the heats in band 11
  • used cranberry beads for the berries in band 12
  • stitched the bird in band 13 with Grizzly and Pearl
  • stitched the leaves in band 16 with Hunter and added snow white beads to the hollows in the running motif
  • used cranberry beads for the red stitches in the flowers in bands 17 and 19
  • used snow white beads instead of single cross stitches in band 20
  • stitched the leaves in band 21 with Hunter
  • centered ADVENT in band 22 by moving the letters one fabric thread to the left (this is possible only if you’re stitching on linen)
  • added one stitch to the A so that it’s perfectly symmetrical
  • used cranberry beads instead of red cross stitches for the hearts in band 23
  • used snow white beads instead of single cross stitches in band 24

if you have any questions just add a comment below or use the contact me form you find on top of the header (between about me and finishes).

– – –

I hope you have a wonderful week!

and if you’re fans, enjoy the SuperBowl tonight! 😀

see you soon!

chiara

7 thoughts on “finishing Friday – the Advent Band Sampler

  1. Chiara,
    Your linen is the most gorgeous color! I can see why you had a hard time deciding which to use. Your sampler is spectacular! Whatever changes you made worked beautifully. The bead work really adds a special look. Congratulations on your finish.
    LJ

    Like

  2. Your Advent Sampler is truly lovely! I missed this SAL but think it was a great idea to stitch a different band for each day in Advent. I was fortunate enough to win some of Nina’s floss and fabric on F/B last year. I love it so much that I’m thinking of placing another order in the near future.

    I have also been very neglectful in not thanking you for your absolutely wonderful Christmas greeting. I loved the card with the chart especially since it was a Renato Parolin design! Thank you so very much Chiara. I’m going to mention it in my next blog post.

    Like

    1. oh I want to thank you all for the lovely words about my stitching, you made me so so happy!! 🙂 ❤❤❤

      Lynn, this design is now available as a complete chart – and if I’m not mistaken it should be sold in printed version as well (in the US only). you might want to contact Carol Ridyard from iStitch Designs if you’re interested. 🙂

      about the Christmas cards and gifts, as of today I haven’t thanked anyone in my blog either.. I’ll fix this with a proper post, I promise!

      Like

  3. Of course, you KNOW I love this – that fabric still blows me away 🙂 I have a couple of her charts in the stash – waiting for “one of these days”, I guess 🙂 Beautifully done!

    Like

Leave a reply..

