Christmas · Gifts · Holly & Hearts · Lizzie*Kate · Nina's Threads · WIPocalypse · WIPs

the uptown funk WIP apocalypse

[post written only half-brained under the high influence of Mark Ronson’s Uptown Funk, forgive any typos and thought detours]

– – –

of course this year, like every one before that, I joined the WIPocalypse Measi so kindly sets up for us, I can’t believe it’s been four years already since she started it! 😱

the topic for January is: “Introduce yourself, your projects, and any goals you have for the year!”

well, introducing me might be quite redundant to everyone that already know most things about me, (🎤 say my name you know who I am 🎶) so I suggest checking the about me page. — in pills: my name is Chiara, I’m 29 years old, I live in Italy (and almost daily find a good reason to regret it) with my cat Taras (friends also call him BaBa) who is now two years old. I like to challenge myself with needlework and quilting projects I often adapt to my tastes and skills.

about my projects, I do have many on my must-finish list and that’s the one I mean to focus on for most of the year. I’ve been starting and starting like it was the end of the world in the past couple of years, now I want to see those WIPs end up on the finished pile, hell yes! 😀

there will be a few new starts as well, but I mean to start only projects I have already kitted up in the past, working on my stash – which is quite frankly embarrassing. new starts will include 6 new projects (one for each letter in Debbie, honouring our friend SoCal Debbie who left us way too soon last year). I know many of you are doing 15 or 31, and I would really love to join but I still don’t have access to most of my stash which is currently boxed up randomly all over the house (as well as my clothes, notebooks, etc.) – my OCDs are endlessly blaming me for this. 😬

anyways, here are the 6 new DEBBIE starts:

  1. The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery – Story Time Sampler
  2. Shepherd’s Bush – The Fold
  3. Cloudsfactory – Harry Potter Giant Sampler
  4. Country Cottage Needleworks – Santa’s Village
  5. The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery – Autumn Harvest Festival
  6. Atelier Perdu – Reindeer Season (Christmas ’14 limited release)

as for the last topic, goals for the New year (🎤 say what?! 🎶) I just wrote an entire post packed with lists and resoluteness – read it at your own peril 😉

– – –

now it’s time for some 🎤 hallelujah! UH! 🎶 as a reward for making it through this post 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

unfortunately I had a bit of frogging with the light pink areas (they all had to be taken out and re-stitched with a brighter shade) but I’m still determined to finish the first past before the end of the holidays, tomorrow!

Taras received a shower of birthday & Christmas presents 🎤 don’t believe me? just watch! 🎶

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

last but not least, some Christmas treats and Holiday cards which unfortunately cost me the world to send 😱😡 – not to worry, I have a plan for next year, and it involves airplane tickets, or (plan B) carrier pigeons 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

– – –

better turn off the loop and get back to that H&H, if I keep on bouncing my butt to this tune I’ll never get a stitch straight.

have a good day!

chiara

26 thoughts on “the uptown funk WIP apocalypse

  1. Keep it up with H&H, I have had mine on the wall over Christmas but I just don’t quite have the heart to take it down yet…perhaps I can stretch it to be a “winter” picture rather than just for Christmas?!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful way to honor SoCal Debbie! I love your list. I have Santa’s Village in my UFO pile, but not on my current list at the moment. I think I am on the second one. But it is a fun stitch!

    Like

    1. that’s fantastic news, Katy! I added your blog to my Reader so that I can keep track with your progress too 🙂
      by the way, last night I checked what linen I’ve decided to use (I’m still torn between two options) and plan to have it on my dowels ready to go for the due date. we’ll start with one of my favourites!

      Like

  3. Holly and hearts is lovely. I like your idea of the 6 starts for Debbie. Good luck with all your beauties and scratch the birthday boy’s ears for me.

    Like

  4. Great post, Chiara and I love your little slideshows. Wonderful list! Now 6 starts to spell Debbie – genius – wish that I had thought of that before Linda talked me into 10 x that many starts ie 60!

    Like

    1. oh thank you! I’ve hidden multiple starts in those 6 (The Fold is made of 6 designs, some are big, some small) and Santa’s Village is made of 12 charts, so all in all I’ll start 22 designs 🙂
      60 starts.. 😱 I don’t think my brain can manage that much! 😀

      Like

  5. Lovely post, so exciting to hear your plans for this year. I don’t know if it’s just my iPad but your little film clips are really tiny in the corner of a black box!

    Like

    1. oh boy! 😱 it should be your iPad. I tried them on my laptop and they worked just fine, and I just checked with my iPhone and they work there too.. perhaps there’s something you can switch from there? I’ll ask my tech friends and get back to you 😊

      Like

  6. Wow, you certainly take on huge projects! And a LOT of them!! I am green with envy at how cool your blog is, too – I only just started mine and am trying to figure out how to post pic’s in the sidebars. Frustrating because it takes a lot of time to figure things out and I would rather be STITCHING! I will enjoy reading your blog and watching your progress.

    Like

    1. oh, that’s too kind of you! 😀
      I do take on challenges, that’s what keeps me motivated and engaged with my stitching – sometimes it takes me forever to get a finish, but when I do it’s so very rewarding! 😀
      it took me days to figure out all the bits of WP, but once you do I’m sure you’ll find it a breeze to use, and it does look very fancy 😉
      in order to add pictures to the sidebar, you need to upload them in your Media first, copy the URL of the image, then go in the Widgets and create a new one that is an Image and drag it wherever you want it to be. paste the URL in the right field; if it gets cut, you need to figure out the size your sidebars allow. do a few trials reducing the pixel size of your image, uploading as I described, and once you find a width that fits, resize them all to that before uploading to the Media files. 🙂
      hope this helps, but you can always google something 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply..

