Little House Needleworks · Victoria Sampler

!!! a sad and urgent post

[edit: February 7th] after the publication of this post I received info from fellow readers and stitchers of at least two more designers involved in this presumed* scam: Moira Blackburn for the outer border and alphabet you see in the first of the following images, which comes from her Time and Season Sampler, just google a picture of it and see for yourself. the other is Thea Dueck from The Victoria Sampler with her Heirloom Stitching Sampler for the stitching figures you find, for instance in Guermani’s Stitching and Quilting Party. Guermani’s stand point is that it all happened by chance as she never copied anybody, it is up to you to decide what to think about this matter.

– – –

I’m really sorry to be back with such sad news, but I simply cannot rest until I let this out. it’s driving me mad since I found out about it, and since I had permission from Diane Williams (Little House Needlework) to say it – here it is. my long time readers might remember I have started a project (SAL Sorpresa 2) by Sara Guermani who at that time designed as part of the collective trio Les Trois Brodeuses. well, I never went past the first part and meant to finish it off pretty much as it was as an ornament. but tonight I found out to my astonishment that that chart (as well as at least a bunch of others) has been designed by Sara Guermani by presumably* making a collage of Little House Needleworks houses, barns, etc. – I am out of my mind as I type so I’ll let you see for yourself. LHN/Sara Guermani LHN/Sara Guermani LHN/Sara Guermani as you can see in these three cases (the last one coincides with my WIP I mentioned before, which you can see here in case you need close ups), many houses have presumably* been taken directly from Diane William‘s charts, and you can track which one and see for yourself – this is irrefutable although for legal protection of my person and my blog I will add presumably* irrefutable. the last thing I need is a slander case against me from this woman. Diane has been ripped off for years, in fact the first picture you see depicts a SAL Sara Guermani even dared to name “Little House Needleworks” – how far did this woman go?! and how many times I promoted her by adding links, not knowing, not even suspecting! I started that piece in 2012 and left it there, I bough a few other charts directly from her but they were all SALs so I had no way of knowing what to expect. – you know how stitchers are, we hoard. I thought “I’ll stitch this one day” and that day never came. well, now I know for a fact that day will never come. there is no way in hell I will ever stitch a ripped off pattern. I spent 75 euro on Sara’s charts. the last one I got was an “exclusive” – HA! – printed chart in four parts that costed 45 euro, the others were three email SALs that costed 10 euro each, but, alas, never opened the files! I wasn’t going to start them so I just put them on the to-stitch list and that was it. if only I had been a different kind of stitcher – I would have spotted this long ago! – of course Diane did, but she was busy taking care of the personal problems and heath issues we all know about and she didn’t have the time or strength to address this sooner. how bad I feel now, you have no idea.

– – –

I wrote to Sara Guermani asking for my money back, I know what she’s going to say (if she’s ever going to address this) but I had to. she presumably* took money for something she didn’t create, nor she had the right to sell as hers. and I really hope that many other stitchers will do so, manifesting our indignation and repulsion to this blatant and outmost presumed* scam.

– – –

this is it, people. not only there’s people uploading charts illegally to the internet. there are other designers ripping off the work of others like it’s theirs to play with (and profit on).

keep your eyes open before starting anything and share these news. the last thing we should do is finance this kind of people.

thank you for listening,

chiara

* every occurrence of “presumed” and “presumably” is to protect my person and this blog from any possible action against me for speaking out about this. this is what it looks like – but Sara Guermani is, according to the Italian law, innocent until proven guilty. it’s up to you to decide where to stand and who to finance when purchasing your charts.

35 thoughts on “!!! a sad and urgent post

  1. I remember a “designer” who took parts of various pieces of Linn Skinner’s, plus some bits and bobs from other known pieces, to produce her samplers. The only reason Linn did not sue her was that Linn was, by that time, in ill health prior to her death.

    I have done a few pieces for myself where I only used part of a chart, or took parts from two different charts that I thought would work well together. BUT…. those were only for pieces I did for myself, to be hung in my house, for my enjoyment. I would never, COULD never, share them, let alone sell charts from them as my own work.

    People are sometimes truly awful!

    Like

    1. exactly Teresa, if she did these things for her own amusement we wouldn’t be talking about this. the big ass problem here is that she SOLD the charts as her own, just because she added bits here and there, and re-charted them into a bigger scenario. and who did she pick to do so, none but one of the most renown and beloved designers on the market! this is so outrageous, I can’t stand it really.
      I’m sorry to hear Linn had to endure this too, especially in a time when she was fighting another battle, and what a battle that was. thank you for remembering her here.

      Like

  2. Chiara, we need an email or other address to write to this thief. I have never bought her ‘patterns’, and certainly never will but I would love to tell her that I will tell everyone I know about her thievery.
    Cyndi

    Like

  3. Oh my word! I cannot believe the lengths that some people will go to! I had admired her SAL but didn’t buy any of them, thankfully. I am sorry that you have effectively been ripped off but greatly admire your integrity in refusing to stitch them despite the financial loss to yourself…I wish there were more stitchers who felt so strongly. Utterly reprehensible of her! Thanks for alerting us to this, it will stop some people from buying now!!

    Like

    1. yes, thank you. the least we can do now is do some damage control.
      I know perfectly well I’ll never see my money back, if someone does this in the face of us all I don’t expect her to grow a conscience overnight and repay me for what she didn’t earn. on the other hand I could never stitch something I’m disgusted by – and I’m not referring to Diane’s original work of course, I have A LOT of LHN charts in my stash and love them dearly – but these copy and paste scenarios are an entirely different story. I could never find pleasure in stitching anything so wrongful and hurtful to the same person I should have been giving my money to in the first place.

      Like

  4. I am so sad when a designer does just as this horrible person has, I will not even let her name cross my lips or in writing.
    This has to stop, I am a Pinterest pinner and find many patterns from so many wonderful designers printed on Pinterest, that is just as bad as what this horrible person did to Diane.
    Diane is a lovely Lady and wonderful Designer, I hope she takes this all the way and has this person charged for this.
    I am so thankful I never bought her patterns.
    Thank-you for your update.

    Catherine

    Like

  5. I am so upset . I bought a chart of hers through Stitch and Frog and I bet Marty doesn’t know about this. I didn’t know either and I love Diane Williams work and she deserves compensation! I am so sorry that this happened to her and I hope this is shared with all of the needlework shops. Connie Bechtold

    Like

  6. This is heartbreaking. I just don’t get people like that. Do they not understand that while they are stealing from established designers to line their pockets they are potentially destroying this craft we love so much? Infuriating!

    Like

  7. Ladies, this is the current state of affairs with many designers. Just last week Bonnie Hunter, quilt designer and generous to a fault, was cheated by a person most like by accident. It caused a maelstrom of discontent on her website. But this is so obvious, so illegal that I am almost speechless. I have just recently returned to this type of needle work and am learning as I go. I am not aware of this designer or that one but this site has opened my eyes. The copy right laws are difficult to interpret at times but this person needs to be called out for what she is. Intellectual property is just that, property, and a thief is a thief.

    Like

  8. This is super sad 😦 and unfortunately super common lately! There is a very popular “designer” on Instagram who has stolen so many “pieces” of other designers works. Many have contacted her with no success and it’s so frustrating because a lot of new cross stitchers don’t necessarily recognize another designers work right away! So they purchase and don’t realize that they are hurting the actual real designers! I’m sorry this happened :(:(:(

    Like

  9. I am just one those newbie stitcher who do not recognise the charts immediatly but have I already have some of the LHN patterns. I remember I have seen that Sara Guermanis “Design” and looked it for a long time and thought there was something wrong in the picture but not could figure out excatly what it was ! Now I understand what it was ! It is so obvious!! I have not purchased any of those charts ..This is so very sad ,how could she do that!! ??

    Like

  10. Thank you for your tireless work to expose these thieves. It is not so easy for some to spot what is stolen and from which designer. Keeping these names out there for us to know is a good thing.

    Like

  11. Oh my goodness, what was she thinking?! This is seriously disgusting. I understand being inspired by another designer’s work, but this is flat-out plagiarism. I’ve never heard of this woman, thank heavens, but the similarities are insanely obvious. Really hope she gets what she deserves…

    Like

  12. Thank you for bringing this to everyone’s attention. I bought two of her charts from a reputable ONS here in the U.S. but I know I will never stitch them now. I am so disgusted with myself that I didn’t recognize the similarities when I purchased both. In the future, I will be a sadder, but wiser, stitcher!

    Like

  13. If you’re able to find a new and original way to design a house, let me know….a house has a roof and windows all over the world, and if you have seen some patterns from various designers, you’ll see that they all look pretty the same. What disgusts me is how everybody jumps on the new scandal and feel free to express the most hard words on such arbitrary opinions….

    Like

    1. dear Wonlife, I don’t censor people just because I don’t agree with them – that’s why your comment will be approved and people will get the chance to read it and see if your opinion meets theirs.
      as far as houses are concerned, there are indeed similar houses in the world of needlework. what is happening here is that multiple house, barns, family houses, tall houses, etc. show up in Sara Gemini’s patterns when they’ve been designed in presumably* the same way by Diane before her. the same happens to the tree in the middle/bottom of the Spring sampler. how many times can the chance of designing the same thing occur? and what about other designs of Sara that haven’t been checked by Diane?
      does alerting the colour allow anyone to call somebody else’s work their own?
      let me add another thing, as much as I respect your opinion and comment, you should remember that everyone else is to given the same credit. so don’t insult or accuse the people who commented here abut their concern. it is true as much as your is. thank you.

      Like

  14. If you google translate her most recent post, she does state that she “collaged” a number of designs as a sort of trial, I guess, or SAL for friends. That’s fine, but it’s the taking of money part that is illegal. I could “collage” a number of designs created by BBD and then put them into one big design, change the colours then sell those designs for a profit. I don’t think she was doing this maliciously or sneakily–you really must read the whole post in google translate–but what she did is wrong. She doesn’t think she has done anything wrong. Just thought I would put in my two cents.

    Like

    1. thank you Anne, that is referred to her very first SAL, which is the one pictured in the first image in my post. if you take that out because she explains she never intented to sell that as her own, you are left with other houses, a tree, the stitching people which Thea Dueck confirmed come from several of her charts – these are elements she incorporated in her charts but says they are entirely a work of her imagination.
      I can only say, it is up to what to believe. I personally find them way to alike to think it was chance, someone might not.
      a house is a roof, walls and windows they say, of course. but if you look at the comparisons you’ll see for yourself they are matching in every stitch. again, it is up to every single person to think what they want and act accordingly. this is just my personal opinion on this matter – Sara is entitled to hers, as well as any other needleworker out there.

      Like

Leave a reply..

