Books · Nina's Threads · Story Time Sampler · The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery · The Grey Tail · WIPs

Chapter 2 – There and back again

so I promised you a journey through Middle Earth yesterday, well don’t say I didn’t warn you.

IMG_5903

my love for Tolkien started a long time ago, when as a kid I took the bus one day all alone, went to the bookshop and bought my first book that I picked all alone, paying for it with birthday money. it was L. 50.000 (a HUGE amount of money for me, and at that time, especially for a paperback) and it was Il Signore degli Anelli, The Lord of the Rings.

it easily became one of my favourite readings, and then the films came, and I started building up my collection of all things Tolkien. these are some of them:

IMG_5902

my old yellowed copy of The Hobbit (1999), which cost me a fortune because it was pre Amazon, pre Waterstones, pre online shopping, when international books here in Italy cost the world and a slice of moon. two Moleskine notebooks dedicated to The Hobbit, and a LEGO Bilbo and Frodo Baggins. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings extended DVD editions, and soundtracks. unfortunately I’m missing the “Complete Recordings” for TLOTR trilogy, which I really hope will be released again at some point. Howard Shore did an incredible job with that music.

IMG_5904

IMG_5905

IMG_5906

around the end of January I also realised my planner was about to end, and I needed to get a new one, so I took the chance to use a 10% off discount and free shipping offer and bought the best Hobbit notebook there is.

IMG_5936

this is the case it came in, it says “Little by Little, one Travels Far” in Tolkien’s handwriting.

IMG_5947

this is the clothbound notebook with a very special embossed cover..

IMG_5959

..and original drawings on the inside..IMG_5960 IMG_5953

.. and last but not least, a special print of Thror’s Map which does show Moon Runes if held against the light. I didn’t do it at night because it was impossible to use the flash and make it visible at the same time, but it works. and it’s freaking cool.
IMG_5950

– – –

that same day was a very happy mail day (much needed indeed, since I was in bed with high fever and pains in places that should never ache), because I received a new bag (the last time I bought a bag was in autumn 2011) and Taras received some stuff as well 🙂

this is a shot for some of my friends on Instagram who asked me about the Knomo bags I had. the red one is from 2005, the black one from 2011, they’re both very light and handy, and they’re quilted – which makes them even better 🙂

IMG_5867

and they double as cat mats as you can see 😀

IMG_5866

the new addition to my knomo collection is this baby here, called Great Portland:

IMG_5937

IMG_5942

I was sick and tired of looking for things in my bag and never find them, and I’m pleased to say this solution is very efficient – and space can be increased by unzipping the sides for a bit of extra room. I haven’t taken her out for a ride yet because I’m still sick, but I can’t wait! 🙂

– – –

then Taras received his share of goods, yum yum! 😀

IMG_5938

IMG_5939

of course you leave him for a second to fetch a bowl and this happens 😀

IMG_5940

and I don’t know about you but I feel pretty hungry myself so..

The Fellowship of the Ring

this is something I made after my friend Jo joined a Hobbit themed kind of contest years ago when one of the films was coming out. I decided to make something edible and fun, so I prepared a layer of pasta frolla (the same pastry you use for biscuits and tarts) and covered it with melted dark chocolate to form the fellowship. unfortunately I made a few mistakes here and there (especially in poor Bill, the pony – sorry Bill!)

The Fellowship of the Ring

The Fellowship of the Ring

Gandalf the Grey was by far the one that I liked the best, especially his stick and pointed hat. that kind of detail is pretty tricky to get.

anyways, it seems like I’m short of a stitching finish – am I right? so without further ado, let’s see the first frame in Story Time SamplerAlice in Wonderland! 🙂

WIP - The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Story Time Sampler

The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Story Time Sampler - part 1

I’m so very pleased with the way it turned out, of course I did my own thing here and there, but it’s so very nice and neat! the Pumpkins really outdid themselves this time – I’m in love with every single bit! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

the Mary Jane shoes and socks come from the witty Garrett over at Coffee Stitcher, he also made a great video on variegated thread usage in case you’re interested do check that out, he did an excellent job. 👏

– – –

I wish you a wonderful, wintery day

see you in the next post where I do my SMALL SAL update and talk goals for this month.

chiara

winter 1/15

10 thoughts on “Chapter 2 – There and back again

  1. I should post a picture of my little Minas Tirith piece that I got with the Special Edition DVDs 🙂 Unless a Kid has snagged it out of the hutch and made it disappear in his room… Wonderful finish on Alice! I hope you are feeling better soon – it seems you’ve had this a while now 😦

    Like

  2. I didn’t think it was possible to have one more thing in common, and yet here it is! I’m such a LOTR nerd, I must have watched the movies 100000 times. Some really pretty editions of the books came out recently, but unfortunately were way too expensive. Love your collection! 😀

    Like

  3. I love your blog…I recently joined! You really inspire me, and love your integrity! When I read your blog, I can feel your passion and zest for life. I have a lot in common with you, I also love quilting. I hope you have fun stitching your duvet cover, with your new fabic Downtown Abbey. How do you stitch your duvet cover, with a zipper, Velcro, or ties?

    Like

    1. oh thank you, Sandra! that is so very nice of you to say – and welcome! 💚💐
      I think I’ll do either ties or buttons, I put the cover on hold because I’m still sick (this is the second week, gosh!), but I really like it and need it 🙂 so I’ll get back to it as soon as possible.
      thank you again for your lovely words, I can’t wait to get to know you 💚

      Like

  4. Great post! I loved hearing about all your Tolkein goodies. The notebooks are great but I wouldn’t want to write in them.
    Also love Paula’s claim to fame although it took the Large Boy to point out that she lives in Orc-land LOL

    Like

Leave a reply..

