Movies · Nina's Threads · Stitch enigmae · The Grey Tail · WIPs

exceptions

now that we’re far away from February 14th I can finally write a post about French films without falling into the “hopelessly romantic” trap.

I’m really not a fan of romantic comedies, in fact they either bore me to death or make me wish an ill fate to the protagonists, so you can tell Nicholas Evans is not exactly my cup of tea.

that being said, there are a few exceptions (and darn good ones too), and most of them happen to be directed by French filmmakers. I don0t know if this is just a coincidence or not, but these messieurs are pretty good at what they do. 🙂

so if you’re in the mood for a love story of sorts, here is a list of films I liked so much I actually bought on DVD so that I can enjoy them from time to time:

The Spanish Apartment

Russian Dolls

Chinese Puzzle

2 days in Paris

2 days in New York

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Mood Indigo

Love me if you dare

  • Pierre Salvadori‘s Hors de prix (Priceless)
  • Jean-Pierre Jeunet‘s Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain (Amélie)

Amèlie

Paris, je t'aime

– – –

last but not least, an old WIP snap from last year of my other exception to the rule: a very romantic looking piece all in various shades of pink, a colour I’m (again) not a big fan of but I must surrender to the beauty of monochrome.

WIP - French Rose Sampler

actually, can we call this monochrome? I mean, it is one colour declined in its different tones and variations. so does the term mono-chrome still apply or is there a better way to describe this kind of work? variations of pink? I’m calling it French Rose Sampler 😀

– – –

I leave you with today’s clue for the mysterious piece 🙂

have fun and don’t forget a new game will be out Friday @ 7AM GMT+1, as usual! ciao!

chiara

stitch enigma '15 clue 3

11 thoughts on “exceptions

  1. I LOVE L’auberge espagnole! I haven’t seen the second one yet, and didn’t even know there was a third, but the first one I love. And Amelie, of course, is almost a classic by now. Might have to check out some of the others ^_^

    Like

    1. oh, I reckon Russian Dolls is even better than The Spanish Apartment, I loved to see what happened to them afterwards in Chinese Puzzle but Russian Dolls remains my favourite.
      you definitely should check Love me if you dare, that’s a must see like Amelie, which I saw many many years after it became popular – what a sweet one!
      they’re all good ones but if I had to pick one I would choose Love me if you dare, stunning!

      Like

  2. I’ve seen a few of those movies and will check out s few more. Loving the sampler… Done in another color would be awesome. Can you share the name and designer?? I’d love to get the pattern. Thanks!!

    Like

    1. thank you! I actually picked these colours, I don’t know why, really, they’re so out of my comfort zone.. but I can’t help but loving it! it’s so not me, but so me at the same time, it’s hard to explain! 😀
      it’s not a pattern you can find charted like this, I put together various borders and motifs from a French booklet series (which now might be out of print) called “Couleurs au point de croix”, and they’re designed by a mix of French designers, so again I cannot credit one alone. you can read more about it in this post
      https://thegreytail.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/a-summer-garden-galore/
      and I also found a video showing the box the booklets came in:

      I thought I wrote a proper post about how I was stitching this piece but apparently I haven’t, I’ll have to get back to this.
      if you want to trace the various motifs they’ve now been published in a book called in the same way, again by Mango Pratique.
      I’m picking colours as I go and cut the linen very long so I don’t know how it’s going to end up looking but I’m definitely stitching with the fresh pink explosion! 😀

      Like

  3. Conosci “Homme et femme, mode d’emploi”? È un film di Claude Lelouche del 1996. Stupendo, sentimentale ma non sdolcinato.

    Like

  4. Sounds like a great list! The only one I’ve seen, I’m sad to say, is Amelie, which I loved. Maybe the rest are worth checking out! Love your WIP, and your mystery piece is proving incredibly difficult to figure out… :S

    Like

    1. oh you HAVE to watch them all then!!
      lucky you can still see them for the first time and not know what to expect! 😊
      don’t worry, the mystery piece won’t be a problem this year 😄

      Like

Leave a reply..

