DMC · Gifted Gorgeousness SAL · Gifts · IHSW · Nina's Threads · Real stitchers don't steal · Stitchory · The Alphabet Club · The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery · The Grey Tail · TUSAL

GiGi, TUSAL, IHSW, 3 finishes, happy mail, a year with the Pumpkins [sit down: a lot of updates]

first of all I would like to thank you all for the sweet and understanding words regarding my previous post; despite the usual exceptions, I am sure the majority of my readers do care about me and my point of view. I wish there was an easy fix to this, but for the time being, I can’t think of anything more effective than no good shots of my needlework that isn’t stitched as charted. it sucks but I couldn’t figure out a better way to send the “not cool” message.

– – –

speaking of updates I’ll try to keep this short and concise as there’re A LOT. sit down and relax. 🙂

  • first of all, I have my TUSAL update to show you, it’s still benefitting from the recycled Super Mario yoghurt vases 😉

TUSAL 7/15

some DMC and a lot of hand dyed galore from Nina I used on what you’ll half-see later on.

  • GiGi SAL update (just like TUSAL, if you don’t know what these are there are handy links and widgets on the right sidebar of this blog, just scroll down until you spot the HAVING FUN WITH section) 🙂

now, did I ever tell you why I type GiGi instead of GG? it’s due to the typing shortcuts I created on my devices. every time I want to tell someone I’ll be right there I just type “BRT”: it immediately translates the acronym into the sentence, and it also adds the handy note if I’m not there in 5 minutes, read this again. 😀

same goes for WTF, the 🖖 Vulcan salute emoji you should be able to see between “the” and “Vulcan”, and lastly GG – which becomes “GOODNESS GRACIOUS!” with just a tap on the space bar. so you see, if I was to type GG, add a space and always have to delete/edit/etc. I would lose my mind. the moment I first typed GG SAL and realised the overlap, I renamed it GiGi in my mind 😉

now, what to feature for GiGi this month? of dear, there is just too much. take a look:

gifts from Jo
very happy mail day last week!

our Jo who can’t think of a clever nickname did think of a pretty clever gift for me, I am still head over heels about it ❤️

there was a beautiful “A Very Merry Unbirthday” card that doubles as a bookmark with Tenniel’s artwork from Alice in Wonderland, a super funny butterfly that jumped and flew out of the card (you should have seen my face and my HA! when that happened) and this:

gifts from Jo

it’s an alphabetical journal where you can take notes of things in your life starting from A to Z. Jo added super duper notes to certain pages and I’ll show you some of mine during TAC. it’s so perfect I can’t even speak about it.

gifts from Jo
guess which page I randomly opened it at the first time? right, LEGOs! 😀

that very day I also got these in the mail: the first two instalments of A Bucolic Dream, L’Atelier Perdu Stitch Me Club for 2015:

L'Atelier Perdu - Stitch Me Club '15

I still don’t know when I’ll start it because I lacked mind clarity during the weekend and hence haven’t decided on which linen to use. decisions, decisions.. 🙂

stash 7/15
another scrumptious package was Attic Needlework’s order, which got here that same week: lots of Blackbird Designs & Shepherd’s Bush. what a Christmas in July! 😀

wait, did you just say hey, but this is stuff you bought, not gifts? yeah, technically you’re right. I just thought of squeezing in all the happy mail here, let me move on with the GiGi update 😉

remember I usually celebrate my blogaversary by gifting myself a new pair of scissors? 😉 well, this year I hadn’t bough one yet, so I took that chance with my latest Frosted Pumpkin purchase (which also coincided with my very first snail mail order from them) and bought a new pair of Bohin scissors. now, if you thought I wouldn’t make two kawaii scissor fobs for both the pair of scissors I gifted myself and the one I received as a gift from my dear FMIL Terry last Christmas, you were wrong. you were so very wrong. 😀

The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Strawberry Froyo Party
finishing my fobs made even more fun thanks to some great music 😉
The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Strawberry Froyo Party
you’ll have to squint your eyes, but see those small fobs still in the making? they fit a DMC floss storage box cell perfectly. that’s how tiny they are 🙂
The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Strawberry Froyo Party
another reason why these babies fit into GiGi? oh, I used DMC thread for the finishing, and that’s thread my grandmother gifted me years ago 🙂

I also added MY OWN signature at the bottom of each, and a date. July 2015. it’s not just the date I finished these two, it’s also the anniversary of my very first finish on a Frosted Pumpkin project 😀 🎉🎃🎉🎃

that’s right, exactly one year ago I started (& finished) my very first TFPS piece (not the first one I bought; the first one I actually started 😀 ), and on this very same linen I used for the Strawberry Froyo Party fobs. long time readers might remember what I’m talking about. I reckon I could try and squeeze a finish-finish on that one before the end of the month to celebrate a year with the Pumpkins, it all depends on this African heat weave we’re having. it’s driving me mad.

now why don’t we add happy mail to TFPS and get what happened this morning? 😀

stash 7/15 The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery

remember I said I ordered those Bohin scissors from California? well, they arrived! 😀 and together with them was a lovely wooden needle minder by A Needle Runs Through It featuring the Pumpkin’s trademark: Sugarloaf & Jack, a thread card Ashleigh designed especially for the new Club (A Very Merry Christmas Town), and the super duper notion case Chicken Boots USA made with Pumpkin fabric, which went sold out only mere minutes after going on sale. [got to love being one of those organised stitchers with their handy dandy tech gadgets that let them get their stuff in time 😀 ]

stash 7/15 The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery

now there’s one more update on the FP front, it’s my progress on Story Time Sampler with this month’s frame: The Lady of Shallot. can you see her? can you see which colours I used for her? what Speciality Stitches? no? good.

The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Story Time Sampler

what you can see are some of the English LIT books I studied on: The Golden String comes from my high school days, I checked it and the cursed lady wasn’t in it 😦 on the right is Andrew Sander‘s volume I got when taking English LIT at the university.

I know, very craptastic shots. let me make it up to you with some Taras gorgeousness: these are kitty pictures 😀

Taras
look at those faces! 😀

and this is last week 😀

Taras 7/15

– – –

last but not least, there’s one more gift I want to mention for GiGi: it’s Chase’s first freebie in his new designing adventure called Stitchory.

it’s stitch + history = every pattern is an experience through history and needlework, and the first one is a delightful square based on the Aztecs‘ love for precious gems and the colour turquoise. you can find it in the Files section of the Facebook Group he opened called “Stitchory” 🙂

I’ll gather my supplies and hopefully start it during August, it’s a great piece for TAC too: Aztecs, August, Ancient, .. 🙂

– – –

I’m afraid my hermitting report is not worthy of a snap: between my snap, the heat and the time it took me to get back to stitching with pleasure I didn’t get much done. I think with TAC starting next week we’ll see each other then.. and get ready. it’s going to be an INSANE first post. 😀

thank you for following the tail ❤️

happy xxx,

chiara

14 thoughts on “GiGi, TUSAL, IHSW, 3 finishes, happy mail, a year with the Pumpkins [sit down: a lot of updates]

  1. So many beautiful things and what an awesome gift from Jo! Even from that distance Elaine looks sad 😔!

    Like

  2. That journal is really cool – enjoy that wonderful gift! I don’t know how you keep up with all these SALs – the only one I ever kept up with was Ink CIrcles Book of INK; even the Chats I do, I collect all the pieces and stitch them much later 🙂

    I may have to institute a New Scissor day every year – I haven’t really “collected” scissors, but sure could 🙂 Of course, I’d have to keep them under lock & Key to keep everyone from using them – my MIL thought I could use my stitching scissors to open a medicine package for her while she was with us! NOOOOOO!!!!!!

    Like

    1. WHAT?? WAS SHE OUT OF HER MIND??
      I do have to torment people around the house when I find them eyeing my pretty, pointy, very sharp scissors. I usually remind them I could be the one giving them injections in a not so distant future. you want me to be nice and delicate that day, you really do. 😛
      I do NOT keep up with all these SALs 😂😂😂😂😂 but I am all caught up with one and I’ll wear that medal with pride all year long 😀
      hopefully I’ll add more of those medals in a very near future, and if not, no big deal. 😆
      what happens 99% of the time is I kit it up slowly, start it around 6-12 months after it launched and finish it accordingly. it’s still lovely to have a monthly part to work on, no matter how much later 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad to hear from you 🙂 happy mail is always so welcome. I’ve recently ordered from etsy some gorgeous needle minders, can’t wait to get them 😀
    This heat wave better go away fast or..I don’t know but I can’t stand it any longer. It’s really giving us hard times and stitching with sticky hands is not pleasant 😕
    Let’s blow all together and move the heat wave away 💨💨💨😜

    A presto!
    Raffi

    Like

    1. tell me about it! it’s hot at night, AT NIGHT! even in the desert you get a break at night!
      people and pets here are going nuts, after weeks it’s become unbearable 🐪☀️🔥😥💦💦💦💦
      hope your needle minders get to you soon, stitching in these temps is terrible but what better way to keep us going than pretty darling bits and things? 😉💖😘

      Like

  4. Wow, you really did get a lot of happy mail! I can’t wait to see what you do with all of it, or at least grab a little glimpse of it 😉 Also, TAC hasn’t even started yet and I’m already learnign new words…’bucolic’, never heard that one before, so I had to look it up 😀

    Like

  5. Wow, you’ve been busy! Love your happy mail, and your stitching looks super cute from a distance 😀

    Like

  6. What a busy post! So much GG and utter loveliness too. I’m actuallly working the first Saturday in August so I’ll be scheduling from the day before. I’m already working on it in my mind LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply..

