Christmas · Cindermice Stitch Along · Cloudcraft · Crafting · DMC · SAL · The Grey Tail · TUSAL · What Delilah Did

Oh yes! – Of felt, housemaids and finished rodents.

It’s with great pleasure that I can inform you that as of yesterday afternoon, my Cindermouse is finally finished – broom and all! πŸ˜€πŸŽ‰πŸ­πŸ‘—

WIP - Cindermice Stitch Along 1/3
here you can see Cindermouse in the making, I had to give her a rhinoplasty and stuff her head properly after finishing her as I realised it lacked the characterising round shape these mice were designed to have. Mission accomplished! πŸ˜‰

Watermarked Photo 1 (2015-12-13-1315)
it took me WAY more than I expected to embroider the dress but I ended up really pleased with the way it looks.
One thing I changed, possibly my only alteration to the project, was not to sew the dress onto her: I have plans to make her at least 3 different outfits and although I want to sew more mice I have something else in mind for them. They are identical when you make them really, but one Cindermouse is enough! πŸ˜‰

I also made her apron so that I can take it on and off (just like her dress), and removed the broom from her tiny paw: after all Cinderella stays a maid for just a period of her life (and a very unhappy one!) – I would hate myself for dooming my Cindermouse to carry a broom in her hand for ever and ever! 😜

TUSAL 12/15

Then of course there was a much awaited meeting.. πŸ˜‰

Taras 12/15
who are you?
Taras 12/15
mmmhhh.. juicy!

Taras 12/15
oh well, if you’re not going to run or do anything interesting you can jolly well go upstairs and get on with the cleaning!
I couldn’t be happier about these kits and the video instructions Sophie aka What Delilah Did prepared for them – really worth every cent!

Of course it takes time and it doesn’t hurt to know who to do basic stuff like cutting on lines, tracing neatly, keeping the same tension when stitching, etc. but all in all as a beginner to this type of crafting, I can honestly say this is the kind of project one can start with (especially since you’re guided step by step through HD video lessons) and still get a really impressive result. DOUBLE WIN! πŸ˜€

– – –

I’ll do my best to craft Cindermouse a partner in the upcoming week, but my cold is still ravaging and I have so many fishes to fry I might not be back with a post for a while.

If I don’t make it back in time, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Chiara

 

28 thoughts on “Oh yes! – Of felt, housemaids and finished rodents.

  1. Such a beautiful end result πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ, I can’t wait to see her companions made up! I also love Taras’ reaction to his new friend 😻🐭!

    Like

    1. I know! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ he is the best mannered cat, really, but he licked his whiskers just at the right time!
      thank you! I must make the Prince, he’s too cute for words! πŸ’™

      Like

  2. Chiara: What an adorable little Mouse, so sweet.
    Tara’s look is simply beautiful, worthy of entering the pictures into a contest, so cute.
    Thank-you for sharing with us you are so kind.

    Blessings
    Catherine

    Like

  3. Love her!! She is a delight :o)
    Great idea to be able to change her dress – will she have ball dress to meet the Prince in??
    I love Taras’ reaction – liking his lips! So cute :o)
    Hugs xx

    Like

    1. thank you! ☺️ I made sketches for a Christmas dress, one for summer and one very funky and colourful.. if I find the right fabric I might make her a ball gown too πŸ˜‰πŸ’™

      Like

  4. Aww, she’s so cute!! I love her little embroidered dress and apron and broom. I can’t wait to see what else you make! πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. She’s ADORABLE, despite Taras’ lack of enthusiasm πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see what else you have planned πŸ™‚ As I actually had pet mice when I was a child, mice are close to my heart (so long as they aren’t in my kitchen uninvited)!

    Like

    1. oh, I would have loved some pet mice when I was a kid!! lucky you!! – you know I actually got to play with a big pet rat a few months ago? such a clever girl, all white with a black spot, and a little house she could go in and out of, completely free.
      thank you! ☺️ I’ll be sewing the Prince tomorrow, hopefully I won’t be such a sloth sewer with my second mouse! 😜

      Like

  6. Your Cinder Mouse is adorable and of course she deserves a whole wardrobe of clothes!
    Whatever you do, don’t let her near the catnip or Taras will be very interested in her!

    Like

Leave a reply..

