Chubby Taras · Margaret Sherry · Nina's Threads · The Alphabet Club · The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery · The Grey Tail · The Mysterious Hallowe'en Town

TAC: letter G

Now we all know I’ve been ghastly at this, and because time-wise the situation is not showing any sign of improvement, I’ve decided to do this as simply as I can and hopefully expand and catch up on bygone months as soon as my schedule allows me to. When life gives you lemons.. you write shitty TAC posts.

– – –

The letter G in Italian has two possible sounds:

  1. a sweet sound expressed by the phonetic sign [ʤ]
  2. and a hard sound, [g]

it is then used in combination with other letters to form digraphs and trigraphs such as “ghi“, “gi“, “gli” ([ʎ]), “gn” ([ɲ]), etc. Boring? Not so much really, because now you see why there’s no J in the Italian language: there’s no need for it as the same sound is being covered by combinations of other letters.

A few examples to make this stiffness much more useful in real life:

  1. la giacca –> the jacket; una giacca –> a jacket
  2. il gatto –> the cat; un gatto –> a cat

I added definite (il, la) & indefinite (un, una) articles because EVERY word in Italian comes with a gender and a number – we don’t go as far as inflecting the casus as they do in Germany, but you can’t escape the feminine or masculine? one or many? dilemma. 😜

Simply put, this means that the word “gatto” already tells you that I’m talking about one cat (it’s singular) and that the cat in question is a male (the word ends with -o). So you see, on one hand it seems like a lot to learn, but on the other there’s less room for misunderstanding and the anonymisation of pets and things. 😀

Had the cat in question been a she, “gatta“. Had they been more than 1 female, “gatte“. Males or a mixed group, “gatti“.

This applies to most words, so now you already know that when you order ONE it’s un panino, when you want >1 it’s panini. If it’s one it’s una zucchina, and when it’s more it’s zucchine. Una pizza, more pizze. 🙌🏻

ì++++++++  <– and this is what Mr. T. had to say on the subject – very poignant. 😀

– – –

Do you have some stitching to go with this pro-grammatic lesson of yours? We start to miss your absence of TAC posts..

I sure do!

🤓 This is a very old snap of a gatto:

WIP - Margaret Sherry - Cute Kitty

and here is a much more recent gufo:

TAC: G, gufo

from the insanely adorable animal, comes the verb gufare which means to bring bad luck to someone by saying stuff like “oh you’re going to win that match with our eyes closed!” “it’s too easy to miss!” “even a baby in his sleep could do that, come on! we’ve got victory in our pockets!” or the opposite “you’re never going to make it” “that is so out of your league, you should have given up yesterday“, etc.

Wait, I’ve got a shot of a (minuscule) giacca too!

TAC: G, giacca

Appendix: other interesting words starting with G:

  • il/un giovanotto –> youngster
  • girotondo –> Ring a Ring o’Roses, which is a dash less cruent in Italian (no hints at death and plagues and flowers on your grave) 😛
  • giro –> turn, spin, etc. for example “andiamo a fare un giro” –> let’s go for a ride
  • and something that is rotondo had a round shape
  • girasole –> sunflower
  • ghiro –> dormouse
  • ghiaccio –> ice
  • giullare –> jester
  • giallo –> yellow
  • grigio –> grey
  • la/una ghirlanda –> wreath
  • Giulietta –> Juliet. This name drives from the name Giulia + the suffix –etta, which turns whatever you stick it to into an endearment, e.g. a bunny is a coniglio; a sweet little bunny is a coniglietto 

– – –

So that’s it for this month, I’m sorry I’ve been a bit of a ghost lately but between everything and the dentista.. yes. Lots of that happened! 😟 🤕

Lots of love and happy stitching!

Chiara

17 thoughts on “TAC: letter G

  1. That is really interesting ~ especially since my name contains both a “J” and a “G” and is generally considered “Italian” in its derivation.
    Thanks so much,Joan Gallo

    Date: Sat, 6 Feb 2016 09:51:44 +0000
    To: gwydlir@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Great post. I knew that my name is Giovanna because of our Giovanna, she said we have the same name and middle name too.
    I know some French and a little German, Large Boy is learning Spanish. Wish they taught Italian in schools here.

    Like

  3. Great post, I enjoyed a lot my italian lesson. Due to our common latin roots I can use generosa, geniale, graziosa as in my own post and stitching “gatte” is always fun and lovely. May I sign today… Giocondetta ? Bisous

    Like

    1. absolutely! 😄❤️❤️❤️ thank you, and great job with your Italian!
      Giocondina sounds so good, almost like one of those traditional maschere we see these days for Carnevale 😊

      Like

  4. Great G post. I have forgotten a lot about the Italian language – it was so long ago that I learned it – but I still remember these pronunciation rules and I recognize some of these words. And so nice to see your stitched gatto and gufo.

    Like

  5. I have been lagging on my TAC posts lately. A long trip away and lots of life responsibilities can wreck the best of intentions 😦 I have so many other stitchy commitments that I can’t seem to find time for my alphabet sampler. I promise I will try and catch up soon though.

    Loved this post. I always enjoy reading about new languages and expanding my vocabulary 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

      1. I can’t wait to get back. Have my D and E post all drafted up and just need to click some pictures 🙂 I feel like I’m missing out on all the fun you guys are having 😛 I’ll get there yet 😉

        Like

Leave a reply..

