2016 Advent Calendar · Advent Band Sampler · Au Ver A Soie · Christmas · Christmas on Gingerbread Lane · Gloriana · Holidays · iStitch Designs · Needlepoint Inc. · Nina's Threads · SAL · The Alphabet Club · The Grey Tail

Advent TAC – day 2, 3 and 4 + letter Q

🎄 Hello! Welcome to my needlework Advent Calendar! 😊

Sorry for the delay but I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather this weekend.

iStitch Designs - Sew Advent SAL 2015

Today’s first entry is a WIP shot I took last year, Sew Advent SAL from 2015 by iStitch Designs; I used the usual a Vaupel & Heilenbeck linen band and silk threads of my choosing (NPI, AVAS and Gloriana) to turn this mostly white band sampler much more colourful.

Rico Designs - Christmas decoration

Because I haven’t been well, I had a few bed-bound stitching hours on this old WIP and I’m pleased to tell you it’s going up as a Christmas decoration in a bit. 😊 It’s a Rico Designs kit (red band 2 over 2) that features a prefinished soft heart ornament, ric-rac and a linen band that’s going to become a bow stitched on top of the heart. I’ll show you when it’s done.

The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Christmas on Gingerbread Lane

Last but not least, a shot of Christmas on Gingerbread Lane by The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery I finished a while ago, another one on 40ct. with my own choice of threads and alterations – all materials hand dyed by Nina.

TAC: My words for today are:

  • Natale = Christmas
  • sciarpa = scarr
  • stivali = boots
  • pattini = skates
  • pinguino = penguin
  • tazza = cup
  • pan pepato = gingerbread; literally peppered (pepato) bread (pane)

and because yesterday was also TAC day for letter Q, here is a fun fact: in Italian the sound ducks or geese make is “qua qua” (quack quack), so the Disney characters Huey, Dewey and Louie became Qui, Quo and Qua, a wordplay on multiple levels because:

  • qui = here
  • quo = where in Latin
  • qua = here

– – –

I hope your December is going well, see you tomorrow!

Chiara

5 thoughts on “Advent TAC – day 2, 3 and 4 + letter Q

  1. Merry Christmas Chiara: Love your projects, the Band Santa’s are so sweet, the Christmas Banner looks like a lovely design, I like the fabric you chose.
    Christmas On Gingerbread Lane so cute.
    I hope you are feeling better, its that time of year for colds yuck.

    Merry Christmas
    Catherine

    Like

  2. I wondered where you went! I recognised the Sew Advent chart from last year, I bought the chart later. I also love your wooden thread holder. Is it a Primitive Hare? I have a couple of her holders.
    I also prefer the names of the three duck nephews in Italian, funny and clever too!

    Like

    1. it’s my favourite Sew Advent so far, very linguistically oriented. 😉 If I remember correctly it’s a Primitive Hare hare, I bought it quite a while ago, I’ll check tomorrow and let you know 🙂
      I agree with you on Qui Quo Qua, it’s no mystery that I’m an Anglophile but these names are just too clever and funny 😆

      Like

  3. Merry Christmas, dear heart, I hope that you are feeling better. Oh, I love the Italian versions of Huey, Duey and Louey – so cute! Lovely stitching, as always and a great Q post. Mine is up now, so please check it out. Ciao bella, Kaye

    Like

Leave a reply..

