Halloween · Mysteries · Nina's Threads · Once Upon a Time Sampler · SAL · Stitch enigmae · Summer · Summer Garden Blog Hop · The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery · The Grey Tail · WIPs

a summer garden galore

it was way before this hell of a summer started that I told Jo I would participate in her Summer Garden Blog Hop. of course life had to get in the way, with my entire stitching supplies being on lockdown taking turns in the freezer, then in boxes that went inside other boxes that went inside other boxes, etc. – which meant I lost track of all I was working on.

this led to a month of no stitching whatsoever (supported by the total lack of time and energy, both drained by all the housework and the daily cleaning); then I slowly got back to it but was forced to pick up only what I could find at the moment, with this and that constantly missing somewhere – so my plan to finish this for Jo’s SGBH went to the dogs.

Couleurs au point de Croix - Summer Garden
this is a piece I’m stitching using various motifs taken from the Couleurs au point de Croix booklet series published by Mango Pratique. I cut the linen very long so I can add things as I go. it’s on 40ct. using a threads from stash (the purple in the outer border is silk), all hand dyed by Nina.

since I had to pick up something I could find the threads for, I ended up choosing an old WIP that required DMC threads, starting two small charts (one of them is finished, the other has to go on the dowels because I got hand cramps from using the hoop) and a new exciting project.

there are a few reasons why I can squeeze them all in the summer garden theme, and I shall illustrate them as I go.

let’s start with:

for obvious reasons this piece is the ideal entry for Jo’s Blog Hop. I stitched this on 40ct. linen with my own choice of threads (all handy dyed by Nina).

WIP - The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Summer Sparkler Party
once I finally finish-finish this, the pink balloon will end up somewhere.

this little project (only 43W x 42H) went under a thorough re-adaptation mainly due to the fact that it was originally 4th of July themed. being Italian, most things (although super cute) didn’t have the same appeal to me, so I changed and moved stuff around, used summery colours, personalised here and there (for example, I don’t like watermelons so I changed them into pink grapefruits) and enjoyed stitching a mini-me!* 🙂

The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Summer Sparkler Party
I added the previous picture for colour truthfulness purposes 😉 there is a mini-Taras charted above mini-me (I used the cat from the Bremen musicians in block 8 of OUAT. if you don’t know what OUAT means, you’ll find clarity at the end of this post).
WIP - The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - Summer Sparkler Party
* see the clothes replica I stitched after one of my “summer garden” outfit? 😉

you can see this project in its original look (which is adorable, and very “team USA!”) here – it’s a limited edition pattern, so if you like it, go check it out right now because today is the last day it’s available.

  • the second small I started is part of the same series of mini charts by The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery, All Hallows’ Eve (9/8 – 11/8)

WIP - The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - All Hallows Eve

again my own choice of Nina’s Threads and 40ct. linen, lots of colour changes and a few witty Straight Stitches in the broom (I just love how everything pops up on this dark blue fabric!), a link for this pattern is here. there are many other (limited and not) small charts I have already kitted up and can’t wait to get done but a certain big project ended up on the dowels and took over (see last point).

this one isn’t exactly summer-themed but I’m pretty sure this little witch spent many afternoons working on herbs and fungi in her glasshouse, so it rightfully goes in the garden rather than the summer theme. to me, of course. 😉

  • I resumed working on the 1st stitch enigma piece, Santa Bunny by Alma Lynne (11/8 – 13/8), and would have finished the darn thing (darn because the golden thread is The Enemy, especially if you have to tie bows and attach them to your stitching, 3 times) if I hadn’t realised the colours I chose for the Bunny are completely off. I will pick it up again as soon as I get my DMC colour chart back, and find a better brown trio for him.
WIP – Alma Lynne Designs’ Santa Bunny
this is an old picture, I actually have reached the top of the left border and stitched the entire hand/sleeve on the left. I got to the Bunny and gosh! those browns are so wrong!

although this is a Christmas piece there are pine trees everywhere (surely garden all the way, don’t you agree? 😉 )

  • and last but not least the project I’m having the most fun with these days, another The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery, I should have started back when I received some new threads for it.

it’s Once Upon a Time Sampler that has just seen its latest block released, the adorable Rapunzel up in her tower, surrounded by birds and trees [check it out here].

The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Once Upon a Time - Snow White and the Seven Dwarves (block 1)
my 1st block in the OUAT Sampler, Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. (19/8 – 26/8)
The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - OUAT January
this is the original version as charted by the lovely Amanda & Ashleigh (the Frosted Pumpkins), aren’t they a witty duo? 🙂

I should get the second block, February/The Frog Prince, done in a couple of days. check it out, it’s my tribute to The Princess and the Frog, with Princess Tiana, Ray and Evangeline.

WIP - The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Once Upon a Time - The Frog Prince (block 2)
Ray and Evangeline, one the best couples I’ve seen on a Disney animated film in a long while.
WIP - The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Once Upon a Time - The Frog Prince (block 2)
again an old snap, the outer motifs are all done. I just need a good few hours to stitch the Frog Prince!
The Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery - OUAT February
this is the block as charted by the Pumpkin duo. I LOVE the frog!

this is definitely summer/garden related, with Snow White’s tale taking place in spring (“Some day when spring is here /
We’ll find our love anew” so presumably by the time the Prince wakes her up it’s summer 😉 ), and then The Princess and the Frog (ok, Mardi Gras is in February, not summer at all – but plenty of gardens, right? even a bayou! 😀 ).

– – –

and finally, here is the postcard I received from Heather. isn’t is gorgeous? 🙂

Heather collage

her message reads:

Hello fellow Summer stitcher!  This picture is of a garden I stitched years ago!  There are five in the series (it’s by Moss Creek Designs), and sadly, I have only finished one other.  I am working on a third, however.  I adore gardens and will go on any garden tour that’s offered.  I love big gardens, small gardens, flower gardens, vegetable gardens, kitchen gardens–you name it!  Unfortunately, since I live in a downtown area, I am limited to container gardening right now.  The tomatoes always love all the sun they get up on our deck (it’s three stories in the air!)  The good news is that the Atlanta Botanical Garden is very close to us and I visit often…sometimes once a week.  And I take plenty of pictures, which you can find on my blog here: http://lottloft.blogspot.com/search/label/horticultural

– – –

if you’re wondering what is Jo‘s Summer Garden Blog Hop, you can read all about it here. check the other postcards as well, they’re all very interesting reads!

– – –

Taras and I wish you a wonderful start of the week, of the month and a great Labour Day to all you Yankees! 😀

big hugs!

chiara

IMG_4526

15 thoughts on “a summer garden galore

  1. Ciao Chiara 🙂 🙂 ….da quanto tempo, come stai? Vedo che hai ricamato moltissimo, complimenti i lavori sono splendidi 🙂 🙂 i palloncini poi sono davvero mooooooolto carini….dove li hai trovati? 😉

    Like

    1. ciao Ilaria!! è un delirio quest’estate, veramente un delirio! ho ricamato anche poco, ti dirò, *sembra* tanta roba! 😉
      I palloncini li ha fatti Sabine/Oeil2cha, sono belli no? spero di riuscire ad infilarne uno/due quando lo finisco 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautiful stitching! I love how you’re re-charting the Once Upon a Time Sampler – I actually kinda prefer your version! You seem to be sticking to the colors in the cartoons, which I really like. Can’t wait to see how it develops 😀

    Like

    1. oh, you’re too kind! 🙂 thank you so so much! I have to say I do love the original charts, but I also get carried away with doing things my own way, I started with the hair for Snow White and soon enough I was re-designing her clothes, the mirror, etc. it’s not just me though, there are so many witty ideas other fellow stitchers came up with while working on this project. you can see them in the Facebook Group the Pumpkins set up (here is a direct link).
      I was browsing the pictures one morning and realised one stitcher, Christy Harris, had re-charted the dress exactly like I did only she put it on the clothes line! it’s so nice to discover people you can flock together with! 😉
      since these two tales happened to be either real classics of my childhood (see Snow White) or new animated features I really loved (like The Princess and the Frog) I sticked with the colour palettes for the Disney films; there won’t be many changes for the next one I guess – I really don’t know yet. I’m coming up with these as I go, every day is a surprise! 😀

      Like

    1. you’re so nice, Karen! I guess the only problem I won’t have once I start designing will be colour choices 😉
      it was a very crappy summer indeed, and I managed to top all this this morning, when I spilled milk on my MacBook Pro. AAARGHH!! 😡😡😡😡

      Like

  3. Thanks for taking part in the Blog Hop. I love your explanations as to how each piece fits in with the theme! Almost as good as my Theme-a-licious posts LOL

    Like

  4. I am so far behind in blog reading!! I’m glad you got my postcard. =)

    So much stitching in this post…I am overwhelmed. In a good way. Love Ray and Evangeline!!!!

    Like

Leave a reply..